Announcements

2020/21 Virtual NAVSA Events

Day-Date-Time Event Agenda/Speakers Sign-up at Contact
Friday, Jan 8, 3pm EST Race and Transimperialism Reading Group Discussion of texts by Carolyn Betensky & Antoinette Burton Please contact --> Lindsey E. R. O'Neil lindseyeroneil@gmail.com
Friday, Jan 15

11 am CST/12 pm EST/5 pm in UK

Panel on Race and Victorian Studies (in partnership with BAVS) Speakers: Zarena Aslami, Jennifer DeVere Brody, Shuchi Kapila, and Fariha Shaikh Register here by Jan 8 Carolyn Vellenga Berman BermanC@newschool.eduand Adrian Wisnicki awisnicki@yahoo.com

Joanna Taylor joanna.taylor@manchester.ac.uk

Fri, Jan 22 12 pm EST Victorian Pandemics: Medical Humanities Reading Group Discussion of Manson, Edmon, Taylor-Pirie, Mitchell Register here Ross Forman R.G.Forman@warwick.ac.uk;
Matthew Reznicek MatthewReznicek@creighton.edu
Sat Jan 23, 9.30-11am PST Religion and Spiritualties Caucus Reading Group Discussion of recent articles by Denae Dyck and Joshua King Register here by Jan 19 Knight, Mark m.knight@lancaster.ac.uk

King, Joshua joshua_king@baylor.edu

Cote, Amy acote@samford.edu

Dyck, Denae denaed@uvic.ca

February 2021 Events

Day-Date-Time Event Agenda/Speakers Sign-up at Contact
Sat, Feb 6, 11am EST Race and Transimperialism Reading Group Discussion of texts by Zarena Aslami, Jennifer DeVere Brody, and Melissa Valiska Gregory Please contact --> Lindsey E. R. O'Neillindseyeroneil@gmail.com
Thurs, February 18, 5 pm EST Victorian Poetry Caucus Event Book launch of Heather Bozant Witcher & Amy Kahrmann Huseby's Defining Pre-Raphaelite Poetics and Seth Reno’s Early Anthropocene Literature in Britain, 1750–1884 Register here byFeb 17 Veronica Rose Alfanoveronica.alfano@gmail.com
Fri, Feb 19, 1:30p EST (6:30p GMT; 10:30a PST) Aestheticism and Decadence presents Caucus "Decolonizing Decadence” with Lindsay Wilhelm, Katharina Herold, Alexander Bubb, and Peter Bailey; moderator: Kristin Mahoney Register here by Feb 10 Matt Potolsky
m.potolsky@utah.edu
Sat, Feb 27 12 noon, EST Victorian Epidemics: Medicine, Literature, and History Reading Group Gender, Illness, and Care with Dr. Bridget Keown (on Ruth) Register here Ross FormanR.G.Forman@warwick.ac.uk;
Matthew Reznicek MatthewReznicek@creighton.edu
Sat, Feb 27,
9:30-11a PST
Religion and Spiritualities Caucus Roundtable “Talking about Religion” with Emma Mason, Alex Hernandez, Colin Jager, Jan-Melissa Schramm, Lori Branch & Tim Larsen Registerhere byFeb 13 Knight, Markm.knight@lancaster.ac.uk

King, Joshuajoshua_king@baylor.edu

Cote, Amy acote@samford.edu

Dyck, Denae denaed@uvic.ca

Sat, Feb 27, 10:00am-12:00pm PST Vcologies Caucus Roundtable: Victorian Ecologies: Objects, Methods, Directions Pandora Syperek, Kyle McAuley, Ella Mershon, Elizabeth Carolyn Miller, Deanna K. Kreisel, Jesse Oak Taylor, John MacNeill Miller, Mario Ortiz-Robles, & Kent Linthicum Register here by Feb 26 Daniel Williamsdwilliams@bard.edu

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~