Of Victorian Interest

Subscribe via Email

Of Victorian Interest

To submit items for Of Victorian Interest or Member Publications, please email felluga@purdue.edu

Prize: Interdisciplinary Nineteenth-Century Studies Association Essay Prize (Deadline: 07/10/23)

2022 INCS Richard Stein Essay Prize

Interdisciplinary Nineteenth-Century Studies (INCS)

INCS is delighted to announce the call for the 2022 INCS Richard Stein Essay Prize in honor of Richard Stein, Professor Emeritus at the University of Oregon, a principal founder of INCS who provided long and crucial service to developing and nurturing the organization. His books and articles as well as his teaching at Harvard, Berkeley, and Oregon have focused on the connections among Victorian literature, history, visual culture, and other arts. In 1985, he recognized something we now take for granted: the need for a collaborative organization devoted to the interdisciplinary study of the nineteenth century.

Interdisciplinary Nineteenth-Century Studies (INCS) invites nominations and submissions for its Richard Stein Essay Prize. The $500 award recognizes excellence in interdisciplinary scholarship on any nineteenth-century topic.

Articles that appeared in print in a journal or an edited collection in 2022 are eligible; if the date of publication is not 2022, but the essay appeared in 2022, it is eligible. Essays published in online, peer-reviewed journals are considered to be “in print” and are thus eligible. Submissions should be written in or translated into English.

INCS encourages INCS members to submit their own work and to nominate essays written by other scholars of the nineteenth-century. To be eligible for the prize, authors must be current members of INCS. If potential contestants are not current members of INCS, they may become members at the time that they apply for the prize. Membership is always for the calendar year.

The winning essay and runner up will be announced in late October or early November 2023, and celebrated at the 2024 INCS conference in Cincinnati. In addition to the $500 prize, the winner of the Stein prize will be invited to assemble a panel for the 2024 meeting.

Please send an electronic copy of the nominated essay (PDF preferred) to Professor Jill Ehnenn, Appalachian State University, at incsprize2022@gmail.com no later than July 10, 2022.

In the case of an essay that appeared only online, a durable link is acceptable in lieu of a PDF. For more details about the essay competition, the conference, or the organization, INCS invites you to visit the INCS website: http://www.incsscholars.org. Specific questions about the 2022 Richard Stein Essay Prize may be directed to Jill Ehnenn at ehnennjr@appstate.edu.

Tagged as: