Of Victorian Interest

Subscribe via Email

Of Victorian Interest

To submit items for Of Victorian Interest or Member Publications, please email felluga@purdue.edu

CFP: Tenth Biennial NABMSA Conference (1/24/2022 Deadline)

CFP: Tenth Biennial NABMSA Conference (1/24/2022 Deadline)

Conference Dates: 21-24 July 2022

Proposal Deadline: 24 January 2022, 11:59 PM (Mountain Time)

Venue: Illinois State University (Hybrid delivery) nabmsa.org

The North American British Music Studies Association invites proposals for the Tenth Biennial NABMSA Conference hosted by Illinois State University 21-24 July 2022. The organizers welcome abstract submissions of no more than 500 words on any topic related to British music from antiquity to the present day. The organizers particularly encourage those that draw upon interdisciplinary or broader cultural contexts (e.g., ethnomusicology, cultural studies, critical race theory, popular music studies, subaltern studies, etc.) or build upon discussions from the 2021 Symposium, “New Approaches to Music, Identity, and the British Empire from the Early Modern Era to Brexit.” Please submit two copies of your proposal (one with your name and one without) and your preference for in-person/online presentation to nabmsa2022@gmail.com by 24 January 2022, 11:59 PM Mountain time.

The conference will be hybrid, with in-person and virtual options available for both presenters and attendees (more details will be forthcoming). Presentations may take a variety of formats, including twenty-minute individual papers, themed panel sessions, workshops involving group participation, roundtable discussions, and lecture-recitals. The program committee actively seeks submissions from scholars at any level and those serving within and outside of academia. The Nicholas Temperley Prize will be awarded for the best scholarly presentation given by a graduate student, and all students with accepted papers are eligible to apply for the Byron Adams travel grant.

Program Committee

Samantha Arten

Eric Hung (ex officio)

Brooks Kuykendall

Pauline Muir

Jennifer Oates (Chair) Justin Vickers (ex officio, Local Arrangements Committee Chair

Tagged as: