Of Victorian Interest

Subscribe via Email

Of Victorian Interest

To submit items for Of Victorian Interest or Member Publications, please email felluga@purdue.edu

Prize: 2021 Midwest Victorian Studies Association Walter L. Arnstein Prize for Dissertation Research (2/1/2021; 3/1/2021)

The Midwest Victorian Studies Association once again welcomes graduate students conducting dissertation research on Victorian topics to apply for this year’s Walter L. Arnstein Prize. 

The Midwest Victorian Studies Association offers the Annual Walter L. Arnstein Prize for Dissertation Research in Victorian Studies, a prize of $1,500 for dissertation research in British Victorian Studies undertaken by a student currently enrolled in a doctoral program in a U.S. or Canadian university.

Proposals may be submitted in literature, history, art history, or musicology but should have a significant interdisciplinary component that will render them of interest to scholars studying Victorian Britain across a range of disciplines, approaches, and subfields. 

If you are a graduate student working on a Victorian topic consider applying.  If you have graduate students working on Victorian topics, please encourage them to apply.  The application deadline is February 1, 2021, and the recipient will be notified by March 1, 2021. 

Applicants should submit the following via email to arnsteinprize@midwestvictorian.org:

  1. A cover sheet available at:  https://www.dropbox.com/s/41i9ni70zxuhzcs/MVSA%20Arnstein%20Form.docx?dl=0
  2. A statement of research (maximum 3 single-spaced pages, 12-point font).  The statement should provide a brief overview of your dissertation topic, and indicate clearly the present state of your work and explain how the award will aid you in completing the dissertation (example: partial travel support, etc.).  Remember the proposal will be reviewed by faculty in a number of different disciplines. 
  3. A two-page CV
  4. Two letters of reference; these must be submitted directly by recommenders to: arnsteinprize@midwestvictorian.org

For more information on the prize, and to view a list of past recipients, please visit: http://www.midwestvictorian.org/p/prizes.html

Please direct any additional questions to Cheryl Wilson (Stevenson University) Vice President, Midwest Victorian Studies Association (cawilson@stevenson.edu). 

Tagged as: