Of Victorian Interest

Subscribe via Email

Of Victorian Interest

To submit items for Of Victorian Interest or Member Publications, please email felluga@purdue.edu

Call for Nominations: Prizes for Books in Irish Studies (1/7/21013)

Thirteenth Annual ACIS Prizes
For Books In Irish Studies
Call For Nominations
Deadline for Nominations January 7, 2013
Winners Announced at ACIS National Meeting,
Chicago, IL, April 10-13, 2013

The American Conference for Irish Studies sponsors five book prizes annually for scholarship on Irish subjects, open to books published worldwide. It also sponsors a sixth prize for the year’s outstanding dissertation on a subject related to Irish Studies.

These prizes are:
  • The James S. Donnelly, Sr. Prize for Books on History and Social Sciences
  • Duais Leabhar Taighde na Bliana Fhoras na Gaeilge/The ACIS Award for Books in the Irish Language
  • The Michael J. Durkan Prize for Books on Language and Culture
  • The Donald Murphy Prize for Distinguished First Book
  • The Robert Rhodes Prize for Books on Literature
  • The Adele Dalsimer Prize for a Distinguished Dissertation

The winners will be recognized at the 2013 ACIS National Meeting in Chicago, IL, where the selection committee’s encomium is read during the ACIS luncheon and business meeting. Each prize includes a cash award of $500 for the author.

ACIS will also announce the award winners in a press release, its quarterly newsletter and on its website. ACIS will publish a display ad announcing the winners in The Irish Literary Supplement.

All books submitted for these awards must have a publication date of 2012. All dissertations must have been defended in 2012. Anyone, including the author, may submit books for consideration. ACIS members may nominate a book by contacting the relevant committee chair, who will then contact the publisher. Edited collections, fiction, poetry, and anthologies of literature are not eligible.

Dissertations nominated for the Dalsimer Prize may be submitted to the committee electronically as .pdf files.

Copies of the books nominated must be received by each of the members of the appropriate committee (listed below) by January 7, 2013.

No book may compete for more than one of the three disciplinary prizes (Donnelly, Durkan, Rhodes), but an author's first scholarly monograph (or collection of original essays) may be submitted to the Murphy prize committee in addition to one of the three disciplinary committees. Authors may contact the committee chair to determine whether their book has been submitted for a prize. Prize chairs may choose to reassign entered works. Please do not send copies of books to ACIS officers. For more information contact the Chair of the Book Prize Committee, Professor Mary Trotter (mtrotter@wisc.edu) and/or the relevant book prize committee chair (see below).
Please note that only single author texts will be considered. Authors and nominators should be guided by what academic audience the book addresses. Books addressed primarily to historians and/or social scientists should go to the Donnelly committee. Books addressed primarily to literary scholars should go to the Rhodes committee. Books that are addressed to students of language or culture (including the visual and performing arts) should go to the Durkan committee. Books addressed to an interdisciplinary audience (e.g., works in cultural studies, gender studies and postcolonial studies) may be submitted to any one of the book award committees.

For further details, visit http://www.acisweb.com/index.php

Tagged as: