Of Victorian Interest

Subscribe via Email

Of Victorian Interest

To submit items for Of Victorian Interest or Member Publications, please email felluga@purdue.edu

CFP: 2011 Trollope Prize, judges announced (6/1/2011)

The Trollope Prize at the University of Kansas is pleased to announce the judges for the 2011 essay contest.

Andrew H. Miller is Professor of English and Director of the Victorian Studies Program at Indiana University Bloomington, as well as the co-editor of Victorian Studies.  He has been a fellow of both the National Humanities Center and the American Council of Learned Societies.  His work has explored nineteenth-century texts by Dickens, Gaskell, and Thackeray, and his recent publications include The Burdens of Perfection: On Ethics and Reading in Nineteenth-Century British Literature (Cornell University Press, 2008).

Helena Michie is Professor of English and the Agnes Cullen Arnold Professor in Humanities at Rice University.  Her work focuses on feminist theory, Victorian literature and culture, and the Victorian novel.  She has been awarded fellowships by both the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Guggenheim Foundation.  Her latest monograph is Victorian Honeymoons: Journeys to the Conjugal (Cambridge University Press, 2006).

Dorice Williams Elliott is Associate Professor of English at the University of Kansas.  Her work focuses on the Victorian novel, theories of class, and feminist theory.  She has recently received both a fellowship from the Hall Center for the Humanities and a W.T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence.  Her publications include The Angel out of the House: Philanthropy and Gender in Nineteenth-Century England (University of Virginia Press, 2002).  She is currently researching Australian convict literature.

The deadline for entries to both the undergraduate and graduate essay contests is June 1, 2011. Also please note that recent PhD recipients may enter the graduate contest.

Please see our website -- http://trollopeprize.ku.edu -- for more information on the Prize, or e-mail any questions to lkiehna@ku.edu.

Tagged as: